Fashion

Painted in Prada

What if we combine the two most powerful ways of self-expression? Things that the human eye cannot see - can be drawn by a hand. The impact of an image together with a magic effect of colors in a new Prada Pre-Fall 2020 Campaign.
Reading time 2 minutes

Rapid integration of digital technologies into the fashion scene could be threatening and exciting for some people at the same time. And meanwhile, certain professions are about to start their struggle to keep their path in the industry and not being replaced with robots - we believe in it and see it as a new way of representing art and fashion to an audience. Well, after all, they say that the opposites are attracted to each other. So maybe "made by human" and "made by something that was made by human" is a good match?

Possibilities to create something new and inspiring were extremely limited during the lockdown. Freelancers and people of art all over the world had to push themselves to make their work emphasize the importance of continuing to see beauty. And since modern society and culture are defined by a picture plane - we are taking the best of it. 

Conceived and created alongside the Prada Fall/Winter 2020 menswear collection presented in January, for Pre-Fall 2020 color recalibrates classic garments, to give outfits a new actuality, a surreal ambiance. For the accompanying campaign, photographed in London on 13 February 2020 by David Sims and painted in New York during the following weeks, physicality is questioned: the collection’s vibrant colors are isolated, abstracted, pushed center stage, highlighting their material essence and their disarming simplicity. 

Prada declares itself in the new campaign as the voice of our generation and bringing in the unity and blurring lines between the photographic and the painterly, between technology and humanity. 

1590924841010368 prada pre fall20 adv camp image 01150

Credits:

Creative Direction: Ferdinando Verderi

Photography: David Sims

Styling: Olivier Rizzo

Films: Ferdinando Verderi

related posts

Recommended posts for you

Fashion

Painted in Prada

Was wäre, wenn wir die beiden mächtigsten Formen des Selbstausdrucks kombinieren würden? Alles, was das menschliche Auge nicht sehen kann - kann mit der Hand gezeichnet werden. Die Wirkung von Bildern zusammen mit der magischen Effekt von Farben in einer neuen Prada Pre-Fall 2020-Campaign.
Reading time 2 minutes

Die rasante Integration digitaler Technologien in die Fashion-Szene könnte für manche Menschen bedrohlich und aufregend zugleich sein. Inzwischen stehen bestimmte Berufe kurz davor, ihren Weg in der Industrie fortzusetzen und nicht durch Roboter ersetzt zu werden - wir glauben daran und sehen dies als eine neue Möglichkeit, Kunst und Mode für ein Publikum zu repräsentieren. Schließlich sagt man, dass die Gegensätze voneinander angezogen werden. Vielleicht passen also "made by human" und "made by something that was made by human" gut zusammen?

Die Möglichkeiten, etwas Neues und Inspirierendes zu schaffen, waren während des Lockdowns äußerst begrenzt. Selbstständige und Kunstschaffende auf der ganzen Welt mussten sich anstrengen, um in ihren Arbeiten die Bedeutung des Sehens von Schönheit hervorzuheben. Und da die moderne Kultur und Gesellschaft durch eine Bildebene definiert sind - nehmen wir das Beste davon. 

Geplant und geschaffen parallel zur Prada-Herbst/Winter 2020-Männerkollektion von Prada, die im Januar vorgestellt wurde. Für Pre-Fall 2020 werden klassische Kleidungsstücke farblich neu kalibriert, um den Outfits eine neue Aktualität, ein surreales Ambiente zu verleihen. Für die begleitende Campaign, die am 13. Februar 2020 in London von David Sims fotografiert und in den folgenden Wochen in New York gemalt wurde, wird die Physikalität in Frage gestellt: Die lebhaften Farben der Kollektion werden isoliert, abstrahiert, in den Mittelpunkt gerückt und heben ihr materielles Wesen und ihre entwaffnende Einfachheit hervor. 

Prada erklärt sich in der neuen Campaign als die Stimme unserer Generation und bringt die Einheit und die verschwimmenden Grenzen zwischen dem Fotografischen und dem Malerischen, zwischen Technologie und Menschlichkeit ein. 

1590924841010368 prada pre fall20 adv camp image 01150

Credits:

Kreative Direktion: Ferdinando Verderi

Fotografie: David Sims

Styling: Olivier Rizzo

Filme: Ferdinando Verderi

Ähnliche Beiträge

Vorgeschlagene Artikel