Beauty

Statement Looks

More and more designers are focusing on overall concepts with political messages for their shows. Makeup and hairstyles especially play a bigger role than you may think!
Reading time 1 minutes
A look from the fall/ winter collection 2020/21 by Dior.

Meaningful 

It is not only with her fashionable designs that Maria Grazia Chiuri wants to convince her loyal followers at Dior. From the very beginning, the designer has also set socio-political goals for her fashion lines. Right at the forefront: equal rights for women and with more diversity on the agenda! A theme that was already in demand in fashion before the Black Lives Matter movement. The stumbling blocks were often one-sided castings and the cultural appropriation of traditional elements.

Zeitgeist and future

The industry seems to be learning from the mistakes of the past. Steps in the right direction could be observed on the catwalks. From the traditional braided hairstyle, “Cornrows” to natural Afros-models of different ethnic groups with authentic hairstyles strolled over the catwalk for Petar Petrov or Miu Miu.

Pioneering role

Dior also focuses on diversity and, as one of the largest luxury houses, plays a significant pioneering role in this respect. This season, Peter Philips, Creative and Image Director for Dior Makeup, is complementing the look with a variation of the Smokey Eyes “to emphasize the personality of each model”, as it is officially stated. This is a very positive development, which hopefully is not a short-lived trend, but rather a long-term movement.

Photo: Dior

Tags

dior
beauty
runway

related posts

Recommended posts for you

Beauty

Statement Looks

Immer mehr Designer setzen bei Ihren Shows auf Gesamtkonzepte mit politischen Botschaften. Gerade Make-up und Frisuren spielen dabei eine größere Rolle als man meinen möchte!
Reading time 1 minutes
Ein Look aus der Herbst/Winter 2020/21-Kollektion von Dior.

Aussagekräftig

Nicht nur mit ihren modischen Entwürfen will Maria Grazia Chiuri ihre treue Anhängerschaft bei Dior überzeugen. Von Beginn an hat sich die Designerin auch durchwegs gesellschaftspolitische Ziele gesetzt. Ganz vorne dabei: die Gleichberechtigung von Frauen und ebenfalls auf der Agenda, mehr Diversität! Ein Thema, das bereits vor der Black-Lives-Matter-Bewegung in der Mode gefordert wurde. Stein des Anstoßes waren dabei oftmals einseitige Castings und die kulturelle Aneignung von traditionellen Elementen.

Zeitgeist und Zukunft

Die Branche scheint aus den Fehlern der Vergangenheit zu lernen: einen Schritt in die richtige Richtung konnte man so etwa auf den Laufstegen beobachten. Von der traditionellen Flechtfrisur „Cornrows“ bis hin zu natürlichen Afros – Models der unterschiedlichen Ethnien mit authentischen Frisuren flanierten für Petar Petrov oder Miu Miu über den Catwalk.

Pionierrolle

Auch bei Dior setzt man auf Diversität und übernimmt dabei als eines der größten Luxushäuser eine Vorreiterrolle. Ergänzt wird der Look von Peter Philips, Creative und Image Director für Dior Make-up, diese Saison übrigens durch eine Abwandlung der Smokey-Eyes „um die jeweilige Persönlichkeit der Models zu unterstreichen“, wie es offiziell heißt. Hoffentlich kein kurzlebiger Trend, sondern vielmehr eine langfristige Bewegung!

Foto: Dior

Tags

dior
beauty
runway

Ähnliche Beiträge

Vorgeschlagene Artikel