Art

Oskar Kokoschka: expressionist, migrant, european

New exhibition of Oskar Kokoschka at the Leopold Museum. Oskar Kokoschka is considered one of the most important artists of the 20th century. He was able to transcend the prevailing Jugendstil of his time and went on to become a central pioneer of Expressionism.
Reading time 2 minutes

Oskar Kokoschka (1886–1980) is considered one of the most important artists of the 20th century. He was able to transcend the prevailing Jugendstil of his time and went on to become a central pioneer of Expressionism. From 1908, he appeared as a painter, graphic artist, poetand playwright, provoking the art world as an enfant terrible and radical innovator. Even later, after Europe had been shaken by two world wars and realistic art had fallen into disrepute, Kokoschka boldly campaigned for the recognition of figurative art, which turned him into a role model for the generations of artists to come. The political turmoil of the past century forced the artist to become a migrant living in Vienna, Dresden, Prague and London, before he finally settled in 1953 in the Swiss town of Villeneuve.

The retrospective, comprising some 250 exhibits, takes into account all the periods of Kokoschka’s oeuvre with high-quality loans from international museums and private collections, featuring not only the versatile artist’s paintings, drawings, watercolors and prints but also his works for art magazines like “Der Sturm” and the theater. By means of political allegories, incendiary posters and historical documents, Kokoschka is shown as a significant and ratherambivalent “homo politicus”. Defamed by the National Socialist regime as a “degenerate artist,”he dedicated his life to humanism and pacifism.

The exhibition is created in cooperation with the Kunsthaus Zürich.

The exhibition will be held at the Leopold Museum till the 8th of July 2019. 
 

1554731710543977 49101554731710454835 4908
1554731710414677 4906

related posts

Recommended posts for you

Art

Oskar Kokoschka: Expressionist, Migrant, Europäer

Die neue Austellung von Oskar Kokoschka im Leopold Museum. Oskar Kokoschka zählt zu den wichtigsten Künstlern des 20. Jahrhunderts. Er überwand den vorherrschenden Jugendstil seiner Zeit und wurde zu einem zentralen Wegbereiter des Expressionismus.
Reading time 1 minutes

Oskar Kokoschka (1886–1980) zählt zu den wichtigsten Künstlern des 20. Jahrhunderts. Er überwand den vorherrschenden Jugendstil seiner Zeit und wurde zu einem zentralen Wegbereiter des Expressionismus. Ab 1908 trat er als Maler, Grafiker, Poet und Dramatiker in Erscheinung und provozierte die Kunstwelt als Enfant terrible und radikaler Erneuerer. Auch später, im von zwei Weltkriegen erschütterten Europa, wo realistische Kunst in Verruf geraten war, setzte sich Kokoschka unerschrocken für die Anerkennung der figurativen Kunst ein und wurde so zum Vorbild für nachfolgende Künstlergenerationen. Die politischen Wirren des letzten Jahrhunderts machten aus ihm einen Migranten mit Stationen in Wien, Dresden, Prag, London, bis er sich schließlich 1953 im Schweizer Villeneuve niederließ.

Die rund 250 Exponate umfassende Retrospektive trägt sämtlichen Schaffensphasen Kokoschkas mit hochkarätigen Leihgaben aus internationalen Museen und Privatsammlungen Rechnung und präsentiert den vielseitigen Künstler mit Gemälden, Zeichnungen, Aquarellen, Druckgrafiken sowie seiner Arbeit für Kunstzeitschriften wie Der Sturm oder für das Theater. Anhand von politischen Allegorien, agitatorischen Plakaten und historischen Dokumenten wird Kokoschka als großer, durchaus ambivalenter „Homo politicus“ beleuchtet. Vom nationalsozialistischen Regime als „entarteter Künstler“ diffamiert, setzte er sich sein Leben lang für Humanismus und Pazifismus ein.

Die Ausstellung entsteht in Kooperation mit dem Kunsthaus Zürich.

Die Ausstellung läuft im Leopold Museum bis 8 Juli 2019. 

1554731710543977 49101554731710454835 4908
1554731710414677 4906

Ähnliche Beiträge

Vorgeschlagene Artikel