Art & Culture

Vienna Contemporary: A Brave New Art World

Every year more than 30,000 visitors make their way to Vienna’s Rinderhallen St. Marx at the end of September, where galleries present works with a strong focus on Central and Eastern Europe. This year, however, you can visit the fair not only live, but also partly from your own four walls.
Reading time 4 minutes
Among other things, the installation of the Krobath Gallery remained in vivid memory of the visitors. Photo: kunst-dokumentation.com

Since its inception in 2015, “vienna- contemporary” has managed to establish itself as an international fair and Austria’s figurehead of the contemporary art market. Nevertheless, the repercussions of recent months are also fairly evident. Yet, what some might perceive as uncertain and problematic, represents an exciting new opportunity for artistic director Johanna Chromik. After last year’s success – in particular with new “Special Projects” Zone1, Explorations and NSK – she had high hopes for her second year as artistic director. Once she had found her footing, the format of the fair was to be further refined and its presence in the city emphasised. Nevertheless, Chromik perceives the unexpected challenges she has been faced with this year as an opportunity to advance digitisation in the art world. Over the past few months, she and her team have managed not only to “catch up” on a number of issues, but also developed new formats that will serve as a “counterpart to phy- sical space” at this year’s fair and thus be presented online.

Virtual spectrum
Following the cancellation of the physical Art Basel - Hong Kong, a first step towards the virtual opening of a local trade fair was already taken in March with the introduction of special “Online Viewing Rooms”. A digital extension is also being designed for “viennacontemporary”, which will go “hand in hand” with the re-launch of its very own online magazine. Further events such as talk shows will take place simultaneously - in the physical as well as digital sphere. But what does a digital platform that can be accessed globally implicate for a local fair? “vienna contemporary” is characterised by its “European regionality” - “above all the presence of the Viennese and Austrian galleries and our partner galleries from Central and Eastern Europe shape the distinct profile of the fair,” says Chromik. The digital extensions now open up new worlds: “Digital platforms are a good and important addition to getting to know each other - even for those who are staying at home this year. The art sector and business with it are based on direct exchange, mutual trust and a passion for art”, but “at the end of the day, personal encounters and the immediate experience of art remain decisive for us”.

Joined forces
According to Johanna Chromik, the art world quickly recovered from the initial shock of the lockdown and has since established informal networks among galleries and artists. As a result, new creative and exciting experiments have been launched. In recent months, she herself has also taken part in numerous digital tours and discussions - inspiring meetings took place via zoom, for example, over a coffee or a glass of wine. In response to the question of how one can keep one’s finger on the pulse of art despite a lockdown, Chromik refers to platforms such as Not Cancelled, which for instance managed to provide an online presence to “Vienna Art Week”, as well as the initiative galleryplatform.la, in which 81 Los Angeles art galleries have joined forces to collectively exhibit their works online.

Up-and-coming
Apart from the digital changes, Chromik does not yet want to reveal too much about this year’s programme and gallery line-up: “We are in the final stages. Let it be said that there will definitely be (re)discoveries and established greats”. On a personal level, she is already very much looking forward to the various concepts put together by the new curators: “Cathrin Mayer for Zone1, our section with exciting solo shows of artists under 40 who have strong ties to Austria; Jen Kratochvil for video - an intriguing selection of artistic short films - and Elisa R. Linn & Lennart Wolff at Explorations, a poignant presentation of works by various galleries in Europe”.

(Re)invention
The fact that valuable ideas can emerge from crises was proven as early as 1919 by the Bauhaus, which originated from the industrialisation of its post-war years and whose basic principles continue to exist over a hundred years later in contemporary design, art and architecture. Johanna Chromik is already excited about the works that have been created in the studios in recent months - especially during the lockdown phase: “Due to the impossibility of travel, openings, social events, and thus the elimination of “distractions”, some artists have certainly produced quite astonishing works that we will see now and in the near future”.
 

1600238954327410 48086111897 823964159c o1600238954468308 48797392837 7835eb274d o
1600238957461136 48802441743 4ec0cddbf2 o
Impressions from last year: Among them the installation of the Gerhard Hofland Gallery and the sculpture “Torso in front of black disc” by the artist Stephan Balkenhol, who was represented by the Jochen Hempel Gallery. Photos: kunst-dokumentation.com (2), Galerie Jochen Hempel

Tags

related posts

Recommended posts for you

Art & Culture

Vienna Contemporary: A Brave New Art World

Über 30.000 kunstaffine Besucher machen sich üblicherweise Ende September zu den Wiener Rinderhallen St. Marx auf, in denen Galerien Werke mit Fokus auf Zentral- und Osteuropa präsentieren. Dieses Jahr kann man die Messe allerdings nicht nur live, sondern teils auch von den eigenen vier Wänden aus besuchen.
Reading time 4 minutes
In lebhafter Erinnerung blieb den Besuchern unter anderem die Installation der Galerie Krobath. Foto: kunst-dokumentation.com

Die „viennacontemporary“ hat es seit ihrer Entstehung 2015 geschafft, sich als internationale Messe zu Österreichs Aushängeschild des zeitgenössischen Kunstmarkts zu etablieren. Doch auch hier sind die Auswirkungen der letzten Monate spürbar; was für manche als unsicher und problematisch wahrgenommen werden könnte, stellt allerdings für die künstlerische Leiterin Johanna Chromik eine aufregende neue Chance dar. Nach den Erfolgen des letzten Jahres – vor allem auch durch neue „Special Projects“ (etwa: Zone1, Explorations und NSK) – hatte sie sich für ihr zweites Jahr als künstlerische Leiterin vieles vorgenommen: mit einem „sicheren Tritt im Alltag“ sollte das Format weiter ausgefeilt und die Präsenz in der Stadt geschärft werden. Die unerwarteten Herausforderungen, vor denen sie dieses Jahr gestellt wurde, empfindet sie als Möglichkeit, um die Digitalisierung in der Kunstwelt voranzutreiben. Es konnte so inzwischen nicht nur vieles „aufgeholt“, sondern auch neue Formate erarbeitet werden, die bei der diesjährigen Messe als „Ergänzung zum physischen Raum“ fungieren und online gezeigt werden.

Virtuelles Spektrum
Nach Absage der physischen „Art Basel - Hongkong“, wurde bereits im März mit speziellen „Online Viewing Rooms“ ein erster wichtiger Schritt zur virtuellen Öffnung einer lokalen Messe gesetzt. Ebenso wird auch für die „viennacontemporary“ eine digitale Erweiterung konzipiert, die „Hand in Hand“ mit dem Relaunch des eigenen Onlinemagazins einhergehen wird. Weitere Events wie Talkprogramme sollen parallel im physischen, als auch digitalen Raum stattfinden. Doch was bedeutet eine digitale Plattform auf die global zugegriffen werden kann für eine lokale Messe? Die „vienna contemporary“ ist von ihrer „europäischen Regionalität“ geprägt – „vor allem die Präsenz der Wiener und österreichischen Galerien und unserer Partnergalerien aus Zentral- und Osteuropa formen das scharfe Profil der Messe“, sagt Chromik. Die digitalen Erweiterungen öffnen nun neue Welten: „Digitale Plattformen sind eine gute und wichtige Ergänzung zum Kennenlernen – auch für diejenigen, die dieses Jahr zu Hause bleiben. Der Kunstbereich und das Geschäft mit derselben bauen auf unmittelbarem Austausch, dem gegenseitigen Vertrauen und der Leidenschaft für Kunst auf“, doch „am Ende des Tages bleiben die ganz persönlichen Begegnungen und das direkte Erleben von Kunst für uns entscheidend“.

Gebündelte Kräfte
Die Kunstwelt hat sich laut Johanna Chromik rasch von der anfänglichen Schockstarre des Lockdowns erholt und informelle Netzwerke unter Galerien und Künstlern gebildet. Dadurch wurden „neue kreative und spannende Erprobungen losgetreten“. Auch sie selbst hat in den vergangenen Monaten an zahlreichen digitalen Rundgängen und Gesprächen teilgenommen – inspirierende Treffen fanden unter anderem via Zoom bei einem Kaffee oder Gläschen Wein statt. Auf die Frage, wie man trotz Lockdown am Puls der Zeit bleiben kann, verweist Chromik auf Plattformen wie „Not Cancelled“, die beispielsweise auch der „Vienna Art Week“ eine Onlinepräsenz verliehen haben und die Initiative „galleryplatform.la“, bei der sich 81 Kunstgalerien aus Los Angeles zusammengeschlossen haben, um gemeinsam ihre Werke online auszustellen.

Up-and-coming
Abgesehen von den digitalen Veränderungen will Chromik noch nicht zu viel über das diesjährige Programm und Galerien Line-up verraten: „Wir sind in den Endzügen. Es sei gesagt, dass es auf jeden Fall (Wieder-)Entdeckungen und etablierte Größen geben wird“. Persönlich freut sie sich schon am meisten auf die von den neuen Kuratoren zusammengestellten Konzepte: „Cathrin Mayer für die Zone1 unserer Sektion mit knackigen Einzelpräsentationen von bis zu 40-jährigen KünstlerInnen, die eine Verbindung zu Österreich haben; Jen Kratochvil für Video – eine spannende Auswahl künstlerischer Kurzfilme – und Elisa R. Linn & Lennart Wolff bei Explorations, einer pointierten Werkspräsentation verschiedener Galerien Europas“.

Neu(er)findung
Dass aus Krisen mitunter Wertvolles entstehen kann, hat bereits 1919 das Bauhaus bewiesen, das aus der Industrialisierung der Nachkriegszeit stammt und dessen Grundzüge auch über einhundert Jahre später in aktuellen Designs, Kunst und Architektur weiterbestehen. Johanna Chromik ist schon gespannt auf die Arbeiten, die in den letzten Monaten – besonders auch in der Phase des Lockdowns – in den Ateliers entstanden sind: „Durch die Unmöglichkeit von Reisen, Eröffnungen, sozialen Events und somit dem Wegfallen von „Ablenkungen“, haben sicher so einige Künstler und Künstlerinnen ganz erstaunliche Werke hervorgebracht, die wir jetzt und in der nächsten Zukunft sehen werden“.

1600238954327410 48086111897 823964159c o1600238954468308 48797392837 7835eb274d o
1600238957461136 48802441743 4ec0cddbf2 o
Impressionen aus dem vergangenen Jahr: Darunter die Installation der Galerie Gerhard Hofland und die Skulptur „Torso vor schwarzer Scheibe“ des Künstlers Stephan Balkenhol, der von der Galerie Jochen Hempel repräsentiert wurde. Fotos: kunst-dokumentation.com (2), Galerie Jochen Hempel

Tags

Ähnliche Beiträge

Vorgeschlagene Artikel